Library Staff & Board of Directors

Library Staff

Our friendly and professional staff is eager to help you.
Please contact us by phone at 978-465-4428, or by email to

Giselle Stevens Head Librarian x222
Sara Kelso Assistant Head Librarian x224
Allison Driscoll Kids & Teen Services x227
Jessica Atherton Adult Services x226
Sharon Spieldenner NPL Archival Center x229
Jane Lemuth Technical Services x230
Rebecca Tansey Borrower Services x243

Library Board of Directors

Librarians at the desk

The Newburyport Public Library is governed by a 12 member Board of Directors. The Mayor is the Chairman ex–officio, the President of the City Council is an ex-officio member, three trustees of the Building Fund who are self–perpetuating are members of the Board, seven board members are appointed for seven year terms, and the Head Librarian is Secretary to the Board.

  • Donna Holaday, Mayor
  • Kathy Carey
  • James T. Connolly
  • Marcia Edson
  • Jared Eigerman, City Council President
  • Gary Gorski
  • Christian Hansen

  • Sarah Holden
  • Stephen Moore
  • Susan Shefte
  • Sarah Spalding
  • Giselle Stevens, Recording Secretary
  • Elizabeth Valeriani

Board Meeting Agendas and Minutes can be found on the City of Newburyport website